You can find on this page the India region map to print and to download in PDF. The India political map presents states, regions, provinces and surrounding areas of India in Asia.

India regions map

Map of India areas

The India regions map shows surrounding areas and provinces of India. This administrative map of India will allow you to know regions of India in Asia. The India regions map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

India used a multistage, stratified clustered sample design. The selection of states was done in accordance with their geographic location and level of development. The 19 states were grouped into six regions as its mentioned in India regions map: north, central, east, north east, west and south. The south (again, for the purposes of this guide), accessed most conveniently via Mumbai (state capital of Maharashtra). The north refers to Rajasthan, its southern neighbor Gujarat, and to the west of these states, the nation capital, Delhi, and the sprawling states of Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh, which lies in the very heart of the country.

There are several autonomous regions of India as you can see in India regions map, to which central government has given varying degrees of autonomy within state legislature. The establishment and functions these autonomous councils is based on the sixth schedule to the Constitution of India. North Sentinel Island is situated in the island chain of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands which is a union territory of India. It is home to the Sentinelese, who are some of the world last uncontacted peoples. The Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) will have legislative, administrative, executive and financial powers over 40 policy areas in the Bodoland Territorial Areas District comprising four districts of Assam.

Northeast of Delhi is the region that lie the largely unvisited states of Haryana and Punjab (the big exception being the Golden Temple at Amritsar, one of India most wonderful attractions as its shown in India regions map), and -- moving directly north of Delhi -- Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Ladakh (one province in the state of otherwise-unsafe Jammu and Kashmir) in the Himalayas. The region of east refers to Jharkhand (not a tourist destination), West Bengal (centered around Kolkata, or Calcutta), Orissa (with top attraction Konark), and, moving north into the Himalayas again, the mountain state of Sikkim and the tea-growing hill station of Darjeeling.

India political map

Map of India administrative

The India political map shows regions and provinces of India. This administrative map of India will allow you to show regions, administrative borders and cities of India in Asia. The India political map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

India is the world most populous democracy. A parliamentary republic with a multi-party system, it has six recognised national political parties, including the Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and more than 40 regional parties as its mentioned in India political map. The Congress is considered centre-left or "liberal" in Indian political culture, and the BJP centre-right or "conservative".

India is a federation with a parliamentary system governed under the Constitution of India, which serves as the country supreme legal document. It is a constitutional republic and representative democracy, in which "majority rule is tempered by minority rights protected by law" as you can see in India political map. Federalism in India defines the political power distribution between the federal government and the states.

For most of the period between 1950—when India first became a republic—and the late 1980s, the Congress held a majority in the parliament. Since then, however, it has increasingly shared the political stage with the BJP (see India political map), as well as with powerful regional parties which have often forced the creation of multi-party coalitions at the centre.

India states map

Map of India states

The India states map shows all departments and regions of India. States map of India will allow you to know areas and cities of India in India. The India states map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

India is a federation composed of 28 states and 7 union territories as its shown in India states map. All states, as well as the union territories of Pondicherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have elected legislatures and governments, both patterned on the Westminster model. The remaining five union territories are directly ruled by the centre through appointed administrators.

In 1956, under the States Reorganisation Act, states were reorganised on a linguistic basis. Since then, their structure has remained largely unchanged. Each state or union territory is further divided into administrative districts as its mentioned in India states map. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

India 28 states as you can see in India states map are the following: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal.